Library Hours

Monday, Wednesday & Thursday 10am – 8pm
Tuesday & Friday 10am – 6pm
Saturday 10:00-4:30*
*from Labor Day to Memorial Day

2017-2018 Holiday Closings

Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Monday, February 19 President’s Day
Friday, March 30 Good Friday
Saturday, March 31 Easter Weekend
Saturday, May 26 Memorial Day weekend
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 3 Labor Day
Monday, October 8 Columbus Day
Monday, November 12 Veterans Day Observed
Wednesday, November 21 EARLY CLOSING 5pm
Thursday, November 22 Thanksgiving Day
Saturday, November 24 Thanksgiving weekend
Monday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 25 Christmas Day
Monday, December 31 New Year’s Eve

FROM ELIZABETH: Take Broad Street eastbound through Hillside, over Route 22/Leigh Valley railroad overpass. Turn left after bridge onto Hillside Avenue. Follow Hillside Avenue (bear left at Maple Avenue traffic light intersection) Library is approximately one mile on the right side, corner of Hillside and Liberty Avenues.

FROM NEWARK AND POINTS EAST: Take Elizabeth Avenue westbound, past Weequahic Park to junction of Broad Street and Hillside Avenue. Bear right onto Hillside Avenue. Bear left at the Maple Avenue traffic light. The Hillside Public Library is on the right side at the corner of Hillside and Liberty Avenues.

FROM PARTS OF UNION, SPRINGFIELD: Take Morris Avenue to Salem Road. Make a left onto Salem Road (right if coming from the the direction of Elizabeth) Continue on Salem Road which becomes Liberty Avenue as you pass Hillside High School. Hillside Public Library is approximately two miles (four traffic lights) past the high school, on the right side at the corner of Hillside and Liberty Avenues.

FROM POINTS WEST: Take Route 22 Eastbound to the Bloy Street exit in Hillside. Immediately after exiting, make a left turn onto Long Avenue. Make a turn at the traffic light onto Liberty Avenue, continue on Liberty Avenue to the next light which is the corner of Hillside and Liberty Avenues. The Library is on the right side.
FROM GARDEN STATE PARKWAY NORTH: Take exit 140, which brings you to Route 22. Drive straight on Route 22, passing Toys ‘R Us and Chuck E. Cheese on your right. As you approach an overpass, slow down and take the Bloy Street exit. Make the first left onto Long Avenue and go to the first traffic light. Make a left onto Liberty Avenue and drive one block to the next light. You are on the corner of Liberty and Hillside Avenues. The Library is on the corner of Hillside and Liberty Avenues.

FROM GARDEN STATE PARKWAY SOUTH: Merge on Garden State Parkway South and take exit 143B toward Hillside – Lyons Avenue. Make a left turn off the ramp. At the first light turn left onto Chancellor Avenue. On the third light, turn right onto Grove Street. When you get to the second light turn left onto Hillside Avenue. Continue on Hillside Avenue until you see the first light which is the intersection of Hillside and Liberty Avenues. The library is across the street.